Thursday, 5 July 2012

Call that an axe? This is an axe...






"If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck"

"What's in a name? That which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet"


The Great Wolf, Logan Grimnar, is armed with a weapon called the Axe Morkai. However, there is some discussion on the internet at the minute about whether or not it really is an axe...

This is important as Logan gets to decide whether he wants to use his weapon with one hand or two. If he uses it two-handed it is counted as a Power Fist so he gets S8 but at I1.

In 5th edition, if he used it one-handed, then he struck at S5 and I5.

So, what's the problem?

The codex says that he can use his weapon as either a Frost Blade (which is where the +1 Strength comes from) or a Power Fist.

The new FAQ states that a Frost Blade and a Frost Axe are different weapons.

However, the Rulebook says that Power Weapons that look like axes should be treated as axes and so be swung at I1.

That would give Logan the choice of attacking at S6 I1 or S8 I1. Hmm, tough choice!

The tricky thing here is that the weapon is clearly an axe - it's called an axe and looks like an axe. However, that makes the one-handed/two-handed choice a moot point.

We're always told that Codex > Rulebook and the codex specifically states Frost Blade and that hasn't been changed in the new FAQ but it's tough to square that with the fact that the weapon is clearly an axe.

What do you guys think? Is it an axe? Personally I think that RAI, it isn't an axe but RAW it just might be one. When is a door not a door?

2 comments:

  1. In line with the Nid codex and Bone Swords (its a sword which bypasses armour and is AP- and not a Power Sword AP3).

    Axe Morkai isn't a Power Axe; its a Frost Blade/Axe.

    I would say that because they aren't covered by the Rulebook, then you revert to codex and play them as they are written there.

    ReplyDelete
  2. is it a power weapon with a special ability? if so you can't use the "look to see what you get" rule. therefore the only other rule available is the unusual power weapon rule which states you keep the extra rules and are initiative and ap3. also.. make more sense for this guy:P

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails