Thursday, 13 October 2011

Know Your Rules - Locked in Assault

Ignorance is no defence creep


Last night I pulled off an amazing multi-charge with my Scouts whereby I engaged two stationary Predators and a Rifleman Dreadnought. I managed to stun the two Preads (perfect) and immobilise and take an arm off the Dread (even better)

Now, the question is, what happens at the end of this round of combat?

I argued that because you can't be locked in combat against a vehicle, everyone should pile-in against the Dreadnought. Andy thought they should probably stay where they were (2 against each Pread, 2 against the Dread) To be honest the second option would have been more beneficial to me as I could have hit the Predators again in Andy's turn. However, we talked about it for five minutes and decided that they had to pile in on the Dread (plus he then charged me with two 5-man Combat Squads anyway!)

So, it feels like we played it right, but did we?

9 comments:

  1. Sounds to me like you played it right.

    Like you said, you can't be locked in against vehicles, so the Unit is free to move.  That said, you are locked in and required to pile in on the Dreadnaught.

    Now if you had piled in, and still was able to keep bodies in base-to-base with the Preds, then you could have allocated those attacks to the Preds in the next round of combat.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds to me like you played it right.

    Like you said, you can't be locked in against vehicles, so the Unit is free to move.  That said, you are locked in and required to pile in on the Dreadnaught.

    Now if you had piled in, and still was able to keep bodies in base-to-base with the Preds, then you could have allocated those attacks to the Preds in the next round of combat.

    ReplyDelete
  3. FAQ, pg. 5:

    "Q: In a multiple combat involving opposing vehicles (except walkers) and non-vehicle units how would a pile in move work? (p63)
    A: Pile in moves must be used to try and make it into base contact with the non-vehicle units."

    You played it correctly.

    ReplyDelete
  4. "After assault resolution, all units that were involved in that multiple combat must make pile-in moves towards enemies that fought in that combat." pg 41

    I would argue that, the vehicle didn't fight in combat, but the dread did, so you must pile in toward that unit.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm with the way you guys played it.

    ReplyDelete
  6. you played it right.. and unfortunately because there was a pile in move you must move away from the predators(non WS vehicles) as it is not allowed to be base to base much less be within one inch of a unit that you are not in combat with..

    ReplyDelete
  7. I don't think you'd be forced to move away from the Preds specifically.  You need to move towards the Walker, but if the Preds were close enough to the walker that a model could be in base-to-base with both the Walker and the Pred, then they could attack the Pred again on the next turn.  The rules only specify that you can't come in contact with models that were not involved with the assault during the pile-in move.  Does that make any sense?

    ReplyDelete
  8. well
    "
    but if the Preds were close enough to the walker that a model could be in base-to-base with both the Walker and the Pred, then they could attack the Pred again on the next turn"

    if this was the case then yes that wont be a problem.. but if the dread is on one end and the pred on another end.. your going to have to pile in to the walker and leave base to base with the vehicle..

    ReplyDelete
  9. Hi guys, thanks for all of your comments; it sounds like we played it right. FWIW, when I piled in against the Dread, I was unable to leave anyone in B2B with either Preadator...

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails